Sins and Needles by Karina Halle

sins-and-needlesSins and Needles by Karina Halle

Warning: this story will make you crave some tatted up guys in your life. Not that I’m complaining, but this book has totally corrupted me.

I was a bit worried that I wouldn’t be as into Karina Halle’s contemporary as I was her horror work, but I found myself pleasantly enthralled with this novel. Halle can weave a story wonderfully, and her writing is quite good. This book has definitely cemented her as a writer for me to look out for in the future.

This book focuses on con artist, Ellie Watt.She’s a scarred girl – mentally and physically, and after a con job goes wrong in her current town, she decides to head back home to see if her uncle can help her out since she’s out of luck and money. Her uncle proves to be no help, and just as she’s about to leave town or make an honest woman out of herself and get a real job, she discovers Camden McQueen – her former best friend who has now turned from geeky goth kid to certified tattoo, rich hottie. She must decide whether or not one last con will be her future and if so, will she get burned in the process.

This book was one crazy ride, and I loved it. Halle really knows how to keep the action going and for a contemporary, she managed to keep me on my toes. The whole ending was insane, and I did not see any of that coming. She also made morally questionable characters that you actually wanted to root for. 

anna

                         Bouncing it up to an Anna Rating!


The only reason I took down a star was I was quite concerned with the rage issues. I know that it was part of the whole dysfunctional relationship dynamic and it made the characters more real for me, but I just thought it made it seem a bit too unrealistic. Like, my butt would not be getting into a relationship with that dynamic. That was the only reason for that.

Otherwise, this was a nicely crafted book that had me flying through to the end, wondering where it was all headed. The little twists that Halle did was amazing and the characterization was great as well. Can’t wait to see where the story goes next!

Four out of five crowns!

four-stars

Check it out:

3 thoughts on “Sins and Needles by Karina Halle

Leave a Reply

