It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

dscn2520It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

This was my first experience with Colleen Hoover, and I know this certainly will not be the last.

This book is one of those books that will stay with you for a long time after. It was haunting look at just where relationships can go and the effects that seeing what our parents’ relationships are like can truly affect what our own turn out to be. The characterization that Hoover spun was amazing, and these characters were just so real it hurt. I can see why Lily would be enraptured by both Atlas and Ryle, and man, I loved Allysa and Marshall. Can they have their own book? Because I would seriously read about them for days – which I’m not sure I have ever really said about side characters before. Hoover made sure to completely create an intricate cast of characters that contributed wonderfully to this story. Hoover’s writing style was very nice

ariel

Was a hard one – but we’re going with Ariel rating on this one.

as well, and super easy to read.

I tried to keep myself away from the spoilers, since I didn’t want to really know where this was going since I saw many reviewers said it is best to let it sneak up on you. And I really recommend doing that. Knowing it going in would really spoil the way Hoover crafts the story. I guessed where it was going before it ever got there, not only because I think some of the reviews hinted at it and because Hoover does hint at it. However, the way in which the twist comes is still surprising and jarring.

The only reason I gave it a four star is for the beginning and the journaling. I could just not get over the fact that she wrote her letters to Ellen. It was like:

Dear Ellen, 

Remember that time I told you about the homeless I was into? No? Because I never actually told you and never sent this letters, but I’m just going to get super personal here and share with you all the touchy-feely things we’ve done? This isn’t awkward at all.

Love,

Lily

I thought I had made a book totally weird again, but after a while, I got used to it and didn’t think much of it. It was sort of weird though, and it threw me off a bit. The other point was that the beginning part was a bit slow. I understand she was setting things up, but it just felt too slow for a bit.

Overall, though, I would definitely recommend this book. I think it should be a read for everyone in this day and age. It’s a beautiful story that could definitely be used as a teaching tool. Stay away from spoilers for this one, and just read it.

Four out of Five Crowns!

four-stars

Check it out:

Leave a Reply

